First time at making cannabutter

Discussion in 'Smokers Lounge' started by gizmo_barks, Oct 7, 2013.

1. gizmo_barks

gizmo_barks Harvested Fat Sticky Bud

Last night I decided to make some cannabutter. I took 3/4 oz. of popcorn bud and 3/4 oz. of sugar leaf, and mixed that with 4 sticks of butter. I slow cook that for 6 hours. As I was cooking the butter, I read online that the product needs to be activated with heat. (The weed needs to be put in a 300 degree oven for 15-20 min. before cooking.) Does the weed really need to be activated. Any butter cookers out there?

As I was saying, this is my first time and I'm a little nervous, so how much do you think I should use? I tried 1/8 t spoon with not much results if any. I'm thinking 1/2 t spoon. Does anyone think that is too much. I know it wont kill me, but I really don't want to go through the "Dam that was waaaaay too much". Any ideas how many doses this will make?

peace

G_B

2. Midnight Garden

Midnight Garden Excommunicated

Are you eating the butter? Try it in a cookie or brownie rercipe, the nestle toll house chocolate chip recipe is a good one to use. Your ratio of butter to herb sounds about right.

3. gizmo_barks

Yes, I like to watch what I put in my body. I don't eat a lot of snacks. And being a mmj patient, I take the meds every day. So I like to keep it low fat and sugar. Butter isn't the oil I choose, but the fats are needed. I'm sure in time I'll expand.

Thanks

G_B

4. ducrider

ducrider growing your mamas weed

Gizmo, I've made several batches of canna butter that have been pretty strong and no once did I put the bud in the oven for 15-20 mins. For me the key is to simmer on as low of a heat setting is as possible. Low and slow, that's the way we go...

gizmo_barks likes this.
  5. gizmo_barks

Thanks, ducrider.

peace

G_B

6. Midnight Garden

If you are watching what you ingest then I would recommend a glycerine tincture. I'm making this right now.

Alcohol free cannabis tincture

[​IMG]