BHO and outdoor temps.

Discussion in 'Hash and Oil' started by Lvstickybud, Dec 9, 2016.

1. Lvstickybud

Lvstickybud Bongmaster

What is the cut off temp for doing BHO? I'm just about ready for more but I'm not sure how low the temp outside should be before the butane stays a gas?

2. ResinRubber

ResinRubber Civilly disobedient/Mod

It isn't going to get cold enough to matter old head. Butane evap is also a property of 'saturation' in the surrounding air. Like water evaporates even though it's not boiling. So even if it was -20F outside, the butane will just evap more slowly.

3. blazerwill420

blazerwill420 Fuck AUMA

Gotta disagree Res, I'm not a pro by any means but i can make some pretty good bho. I tried it when it was in the mid 50's and the butane came and froze into clumps and drew moisture from the air and messed everything up and I had to use the stuff for edibles. I was trying to make shatter and got some stuff that never quite hardened up.

That blob in the middle is what happened when it was cold out... notshatter.jpg

And what I get when it's above 70.

shatter.jpg shattera.jpg

4. ResinRubber

Dunno what to tell ya. I'm in the great white north and have run in temps below freezing quite a bit. My guess you're getting condensation on the inside of the evap bowl and it's dripping into the solution, that could have something to do with it. Up here winter humidity is desert dry and temps so cold condensation is pretty much nil. Dunno for sure...just spitballing possible differences.

5. SuperMoChombo

SuperMoChombo Well-Known Member