Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• keeping a plant alive after harvest

hi all,

I'm a newbie here looking for some advice.

You can harvest, leave some buds & leaves on and re-veg, but almost no one does. Here's why:
    Switching back to veg takes 2--4 weeks.
    It stresses out the plant to the max.
    Some plants don't survive the switch, others go into this kind of 'suspeneded animation' thing.
    It's much better to takes clones.

Comment

Ranger: Can you take clones from a plant before you harvest?
      The more you know...The bigger they grow!

Comment

You can, and there's nothing stopping you, but it's better to take clones during veg rather than the flowering period for better rates of success. Clones taking during the first 2 weeks of flowering will still give you good results, although after that, survival rates drop as the plant starts to put on the bud. This doesn't mean that you can't clone from a flowering plant, only you're making things twice as hard for the clones, as they will have to revert back into veg, aswell as produce roots.

(Edited by chopstick at 10:59 pm on July 13, 2003)
        " Made in China: Freedom of speach 100% synthetic "

Comment

Got it....Thanks,

If I get more than 3 females, I'm going to keep one for cloning set aside, and not put it into flower....
          The more you know...The bigger they grow!

Comment

Thanks, Guys. I will pick up some rooting hormone today and take some clones from the lower secondary growths today. I guess eventually I'm going to have to get a second light to keep the clones on the right scedule of vegging while the first generation are flowering. I know this is not optimal but I guess I will be putting the clones in the window for natural light for awhile, until I can figure out how/where I can put the second light.

Thanks again! Your input is always greatly appreciated.

S.

Comment

Talltree,