DWC questions

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Cultivation' started by nippie, Aug 3, 2011.

1. nippie

nippie preachin' and pimpin'

Alright trying my hand again at DWC, last time years ago total failure.

Questions..

Do I really need a check valve or tube on the side to check water levels?

If room temp 72-78 do I need a chiller (78 is with lights on and forgetting to turn on vents which happens often lol)

How do I manage my ph?

How would you stake flowering limbs?

Would 5 gal be preferred over 3.5? Benifits and draws of each

What size air pump would I need? (is there a formula to follow, looking for 4 plants was wondering if I can get one big pump, or 4 small ones)

What happens if you lose power?

How often do you check PPMS on the system, and if low, how do you decide what to add?

Thanks in advance, buying what I need tomorrow and don't wanna ask a bunch of questions at hydro store

2. Lvstickybud

Lvstickybud Bongmaster

I'm fairly new at DWC but this is how I have done it so far. I've harvested about 15 plants so far with the onl;y problem being a slight burn on the tips of the leaves. I'm sure there are others that can give you a better lowdown, but that's my story and I'm sticking with it.

nippie likes this.
  3. nippie

What's 24 hour flush? do you run 6 days nute, 1 ph'd water?

Also, what about h2o2? Do you need it?

Lucas vs Useless, does it matter in DWC?

was considering buying 8 (5 gal) buckets that way I always have 1 set of clean to switch to during water changes, is this a dumb idea?

How bad is Ph flux? Do I just set it at 5.6 when make nutes and pray for the best?

Thanks

4. Lvstickybud

Lvstickybud Bongmaster

Your welcome. I'm just answering the same questions I asked about 6 months ago (or a little longer. Time has been standing still for me)

5. nippie

So basically I just need to buy the buckets, drill for airline, and presto, everythings good?

I plan on buying the premade lids with net cups, do you have suggestion on size??